Skip to main content
Benton City is a Non-Charter Code City, with a Strong Mayor-Council form of government with five council members and a mayor elected to four-year staggered terms. Positions are nonpartisan, elected by all voters at general elections.

Legislative: The City Council is a legislative body of the City, and derives its powers from the Revised Code of Washington (RCW 35A) and the State Constitution. The Council authorizes public improvements and expenditures via adoption of an annual budget; levies taxes; controls finances and property of the City; sets City policy by resolutions; enacts legislation via ordinances; and provides for the public safety and welfare of the citizenry.

Executive: The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer of the City. State law gives the Mayor the authority and responsibility to manage the City on a day-to-day basis. He has the responsibility to hire and fire City employees, but is restricted by the Councils’ budget. The Mayor serves as the "presiding officer" of the City Council meetings, and sets the meeting agenda on issues requiring Council action, but votes only to break a tie on certain issues.
Return to home page
Benton City
PO Box 70, 1009 Dale Avenue, Suite A. Benton City, WA 99320
Phone: (509) 588-3322  |   Fax: (509) 588-3323
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Site Map  |  Accessibility  

Government Websites by MunicipalCMS
E-notify RSS Feeds Facebook