City Government

Benton City is a Non-Charter Code City, with a Strong Mayor-Council form of government with five council members and a mayor elected to four-year staggered terms. Positions are nonpartisan, elected by all voters at general elections.
Legislative: The City Council is a legislative body of the City, and derives its powers from the Revised Code of Washington (RCW 35A) and the State Constitution. The Council authorizes public improvements and expenditures via adoption of an annual budget; levies taxes; controls finances and property of the City; sets City policy by resolutions; enacts legislation via ordinances; and provides for the public safety and welfare of the citizenry.

Executive: The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer of the City. State law gives the Mayor the authority and responsibility to manage the City on a day-to-day basis. He has the responsibility to hire and fire City employees, but is restricted by the Councils’ budget. The Mayor serves as the "presiding officer" of the City Council meetings, and sets the meeting agenda on issues requiring Council action, but votes only to break a tie on certain issues.

The City Council meets every 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m., in the City Hall Council Chambers. All council meetings and workshops, except for executive sessions, are open to the public, and public comments may be received (See Agenda and Rules). The council agenda deadline is the Wednesday previous to a council meeting.

Mayor Lloyd Carnahan
Mayor Pro-Tem Lynn Johnson
Councilman Bob Bruce
Councilwoman Lorna Deckert
Councilwoman Lisa Stade
Councilwoman Honda Johnson


Benton City Hall

PO Box 70

Benton City, WA 99320

Tel - 509-588-3322

Fax - 509-588-3323




City Clerk-Treasurer- Stephanie Hoegh

The City Clerk-Treasurer is the records management and financial audit officer for the City. The City Clerk-Treasurer maintains all official records of the City, deals with land issues brought to the City, prepares the City Council Agendas and Minutes, Financial records of the City, and the Annual Budget.

Deputy Clerk-Treasurer- Cristy McGee

The Deputy Clerk-Treasurer prepares accounts payables and payroll, and is purchasing agent. Prepares the Planning Commission Agendas.

General Clerk 1- Misty Ferrell

The General Clerk 1serves as the utility billing clerk, receptionist, and handles business licenses and dog licensing.

General Clerk 2- Diana Washburn

The General Clerk 2 serves as an additional utility billing clerk, receptionist, and handles city archives.

Code-Enforcement Officer- Tami Colley

The Code-Enforcement Officer enforces all codes and animal control.

Water Delivery and Wastewater Treatment Plant Supervisor - Ronnie Shumate

Water Delivery and Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator - Roger Lowery

Maintenance Foreman- Nick Wheeler

Maintenance Worker- Krista Nyby

Maintenance Worker - George Lohr

Maintenance Worker - Kyle Kurth

Building Inspection - Contracted - Available to City.

City Engineer - Contracted - Available to City

City Attorney - Contracted - Available to City

Hearing Examiner - meets the second Tuesday each month to review violations, etc., in the City Council Chamber. The Code Enforcement Officer cites for appearances. Fifteen days advance notice is required.

Planning Commission is an advisory board to the City Council on comprehensive planning and zoning regulations of the City, meeting as needed.

The Planning Commission consists of five members serving five-year staggered terms. Members are appointed by the Mayor, confirmed by the City Council and are selected without respect to political affiliations and serve without compensation. Each member must be a registered voter and a resident of the City at least six (6) months preceding the appointment.

Chairman Kyle Norris
Board Member Heather Duncan
Board Member Don Allen
Board Member Linda Lehman
Board Member Jackson D. Howard


The Sheriff provides law enforcement services to Benton County and to Benton City.

Non-emergency- 628-0333

Emergency- 911